top of page

Why I Chose Division II Athletics

div 2.jpg

Choosing Div. II was not my priority when considering colleges. Honestly, even as a teenager in high school my first priority wasn't to attend a University. I lived in the small town of Rialto in California just outside of San Bernardino. I didn't grow up playing sports. I was the girly tomboy who loved playing outside but I always just watched my older brother play all of his many different sports as he grew up. As my sophomore year of High school came around I started to panic as most teens do, assuming there’s no clear path for my future. What the hell did I want to do as a career? Thats when my world and window of opportunity drastically changed. My best friend asked me if I would go to my high school volleyball team try outs.

THE JOURNEY

I had no idea about the sport, but I figured why not? It’s safe to mention I was not known for my academics growing up, I had a short attention span and hated school, more specifically I hated math because it was obviously meant to torture. But back to the beginning of my career, we tried out and I made my High school JV team. It felt awesome to work hard and earn something for once. But after a rough HS season I found Club volleyball. This is where all of my athletic ability began to shine. Club (or city league) volleyball is where most players learn what actual volleyball is. I started to become a pretty good player, but I always doubted myself and struggled with thinking I was never really good enough. I had a mental plan of going to a JC for two years and then maybe get into a University for two more years. With my grades, I never thought anything else was an option.

After only playing two seasons of club volleyball, I was entering my senior year with offers to play at several universities. I was shocked and unprepared for the decisions and options I was given. I didn't think I was a great player but here were these colleges that thought otherwise. It was humbling for me. There were division I schools and Division II schools. One of these universities was San Bernardino. The owners of the volleyball club I played for, Rancho Valley Volleyball club, were the head and assistant coaches of the women volleyball team at Cal State San Bernardino (CSUSB). So I knew the college and the coaches really well. With that being said, I had no interest in playing for CSUSB. Not that I didn't love the coaching staff, but just the idea of playing at a university that was basically in my back yard didn't appeal to me, and the city of San Bernardino didn't have a great rep. I wanted to play Division I volleyball, but I also had no idea what that even meant at the time. It just sounded cool and appealing. I didn't want to tell all my friends I signed for a Division II.

406634_4980113311584_1706039328_n.jpg

MAKING THE DECISION

Although I wanted to go Division I simply for the appearance of it, I found a compelling and decisive reason to go Division II. Out of all the universities that contacted me, only one coach called me relentlessly every single day. All of my family had agreed and told me that I should play at CSUSB but I only kept turning my family away saying they were ridiculous. I kept telling the coach that I just wasn't sure. And every day she would call again, and continuously try and sell me on their volleyball program. So I decided I would take my first college visit there, I wanted to see for myself if what they were trying to sell me was true. I went on my first unofficial visit with my mom, we toured the campus and it was actually really clean and nice compared to the grungy opinion I had made up about it. Later, I would go on my first official visit, with 3 of my other Rancho Valley volleyball club teammates, this is where you meet many of the players and stay overnight for the college experience. I had a blast! And still, the coach called me daily. That is the very reason on how I knew I would sign for this college.

383666_2687582319742_1645503411_n.jpg

The coach sincerely and definitely wanted me on her team. No other college had pursued me as persistently and relentlessly as she did. I felt like I belonged there. I wanted to play for a team I knew I would get playing time at and for a coach that truly wanted me on there. It was also comforting to know that 3 of my club volleyball teammates I had played with for two years would also be at college with me for the next 4 years! I had a family there, with coaches and teammates I knew and trusted. I signed my letter of intent without taking any other visits to any other colleges. Most would say that I was crazy and didn't explore my options and maybe they're right. There are many Division I schools that have awesome perks, like all night dining halls and endless amounts of new gear and even iPads in their locker room. But these things aren't why I wanted to sign. I wanted to play for a school and a team where 1. I would get playing time, 2. was a good team in their league, and 3. where I’d be happy. And at CSUSB I knew I would have all 3 of these things.

MY CAREER

My freshman year I was a starting middle blocker, but no matter how good other people thought I was, I would always be my worst enemy. I never thought I was good enough, and constantly thought my coach regretted giving me a scholarship. I know, I was seriously hard on myself. But I was a starting freshman, and my only goal was to be better than the senior I had began the season with. No one else mattered. She was the best and she was who I needed to beat. So after she left, I became my own competition and had to learn how to push myself. It wasn't always easy, especially on my bad days. But luckily I had the two best coaches who refused to let me have these days and put me in my place immediately and humbled me. We were four time conference and regional champions. I didn't know what losing was. We went to the National tournament all four of my years playing there and the finals twice. We never won the finals and not getting that ring was bitter, but we worked our asses off and I couldn't ask for anything more from my team. My Junior year I finished on cloud nine. I was the AVCA National Player of the year and Daktronics Player of the year and it was a huge shock to me. I remember exactly where I was and trying to hold back tears. Me, the girl who wanted to attend a JC, who thought she was never good enough, who thought her coaches would regret choosing her, was now the best player in the country for Division II volleyball. I set school records and held highest kill % nationally. This is probably where I actually gained confidence. So my senior year I knew what I had to do and I went out with a bang! Two time AVCA National Player of the year and Daktronics player of the year. Led the nation in Kill and Block %. Not only was I the first to win both consecutively in my conference but also the first to do it twice! It was seriously such an honor and I was elated.

hh.jpg

A skinny un-athletic 15 year old girl trying out for her high school varsity team to being the best player in the country for Division 2. I still cant believe it. And now I’m playing professionally abroad. I still have moments of self doubt, but I know now how to handle them and tell myself to stop being stupid. I’ve made it this far and its definitely not over yet. I still have no words for the people in my life who have pushed me this far. My mother never let me quit, and she always believed in me and pushed me in the right direction. My coaches, Kimbra, Danny and of course Mikey, were seriously fantastic, I owe them everything from my talent to my mentality and I don’t think i’ll every have better or more caring coaches. Division II volleyball may seem not ideal, but honestly, i’ve been asked several times if I’d ever transfer or wish I had gone Division I and the answer is no. I had the time of my life at CSUSB, not just with volleyball but also with the school itself. I chose Division II and I don't regret it for a second!

div 2.jpg


SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page